Art on Display

Intaglio Print at the Rogalski Center

I currently have two of my art works on display. One is an intaglio print at the Rogalski Center at St. Ambrose University and the other is an artists book at the Figge Art Museum.
The print was made by incising a copper plate with acid. This figure brings out my belief that we, as Christians, should not judge others – those of a different religious belief, those of a different sexual orientation, and/or others who do not fit the mold of the right wing, religious, conservatives. Jesus’ message was about love, tolerance, and acceptance. It is difficult, actually incomprehensible, for me to understand how people who profess this love for Jesus Christ can practice a life style that is the complete opposite – judging others and not accepting them.   We do have a word for that in the English language – hypocrite. I feel that we as Christians should lead a life helping others and doing whatever we can to make this a better world for all and leave the judging to God. Our instructor for the print-making class said that our prints had to convey a message. This was a great assignment as I was able to express my ideas in this form.

The artists book was made during the spring of 2010 in my Art of the Book class at St. Ambrose.  Again, we were given free reign to use our creativity.  It incorporated my love for and interest in Broadway musicals.  The book is set up in an interactive format.  One of my favorite book artists is Julie Chen and I got the idea from her as many of her works are interactive.   Rather than trying to explain it, I would rather you go to the Figge and see it and work with it.  It is meant to be touched and used.  I don’t have a picture yet as the Figge has a policy against photography in the galleries.  I should have taken a picture before I took it down to the Museum, but that would have taken too much planning on my part.

I would like to end this post by stating what a great experience I have had taking art classes at St. Ambrose under the Senior Learners Program.  I have only had two different instructors for my five classes and both have been excellent.  Kate Elliott is no longer teaching classes at St. Ambrose.  Joseph Lappie, my current instructor, is great.  I have enjoyed all three classes I have taken from him and have learned a great deal.  He is very enthusiastic and knowledgeable about the subject matter, patient, explains concepts well, encourages students to produce high-quality work (both creatively and mechanically), and has a nice way of working with students.

About grom1012

I am retired and stay quite active. I am a docent at our local art museum and I take classes from a local university. I enjoy gardening, spending time with my model railroad, and reading. I also enjoy traveling. I am married and have three children, four grandchildren, and five great-grandchildren. We also have an eight-year old spoiled Schnauzer who thinks he is in charge of our home - and he probably is.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Art on Display

  1. asrai7 says:

    I saw your print displayed at Ambrose, and was so happy when I squinted in the corner to see your name! Although I’m not religious, I do agree with trying to be as tolerant and non judging of others as possible. I saw your work on display at The Figge College Invitational as well, nice work! 😀

Leave a Reply

