Start of a new week

My New Year’s Resolution was to write on my blog twice a week.  We are only half way through January and already I have not done it.  My classes at Ambrose start this week and perhaps that will keep me better organized and more responsible.  I can tell I’m getting old as I am anxious for semester break to be over and for classes to begin again.  I am going to take three classes this semester – Computers in Art, algebra, and Fourth-semester German.  That should keep me busy.  I’m really proud of myself.  I bought my algebra book from Amazon.com and saved myself $86.  I can’t understand why there is such a difference in price.

Janet and I have spent the past month reading Stieg Larsson’s trilogy – The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, The Girl Who Played with Fire, and The Girl Who Kicked the Hornets Nest.  All three were excellent and we had difficulty putting them down.  He supposedly had started a fourth book in this series and had about two-thirds of it completed when he died unexpectedly of a heart attack.   Too bad as I would have liked to have read more adventures of Blomkvist and Salander.  He really was an excellent writer.

The past month I have had my annual meetings with doctors.  So far my heart, lungs, and bronchial tubes seem to be ok.  Today I see the urologist.  Hopefully I’ll learn that my prostate will last another year.  I just had a root canal and by the time I’m done getting the final crown installed, I’ll have about $2000 invested in that tooth.  Probably should have just had it extracted.  My biggest waste of money this past year was for hearing aids.  I found out that I had a hearing loss at high frequencies.  I got these hearing aids that cost $3500 above the insurance coverage.  I have had trouble wth them ever since I got them.  They probably help a little, but they are very uncomfortable and I can’t get used to wearing them.  Consequently, they sit on top of my dresser.  I should start using them again.  Maybe I just have to get used to them.  However, I have talked with other people who have them, and they don’t like them either.

I’ll write again on Friday after my three classes have met.

About grom1012

I am retired and stay quite active. I am a docent at our local art museum and I take classes from a local university. I enjoy gardening, spending time with my model railroad, and reading. I also enjoy traveling. I am married and have three children, four grandchildren, and five great-grandchildren. We also have an eight-year old spoiled Schnauzer who thinks he is in charge of our home - and he probably is.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

